NOCTAD


My Modern Classics
March 7, 2009, 22:41
Filed under: Music

Here’s a list I’ve compiled of songs that I consider Modern Classics, songs that have affected me in more ways than one. Some of them are known and are already hits, and others are not as known, but nevertheless, they’re all exquisite in their own way.

anna-nalickBreathe (2 AM) – Anna Nalick
I consider this one of the first english songs I loved, and I still never get bored of listening to it, there is something about this song that never fails to amaze me, no matter how many times I hear it, it’s always moving.

britneyEverytime – Britney Spears
I hate Britney ballads, they’re never perfect, she’s never on pitch,  and always breathy. But in here, it’s flawless, her best ballad, and she will never ever top it.
Toy Soldier – Britney Spears
Her best uptempo song since Slave/Toxic.

sugababesAce Reject – Sugababes
This is Sugababes at their best, this song has the Xenomania stamp all over it, it’s a perfect pop-dance-ballad.  It’s my favorite song of their whole shifty career.

mcFor The Record – Mariah Carey
Def Jam, L.A. Reid, Mariah Carey, and everyone involved with the E=MC2 project should be bitch-slapped for not releasing this “masterpiece” as a single.

girls-aloudCall The Shots – Girls Aloud
Their best single, enough.

leonaTake A Bow – Leona Lewis
Why this wasn’t released as a single is beyond me, seriously. It wipes the floor with Rihanna’s song of the same name.

lindaCan’t Let Go – Linda Kiraly
I will be posting this song for as long as I live. It’s a Darkchild produced song, with brilliant vocal delivery from Ms. Linda. Why isn’t this a hit? stupid Americans.

janet-jacksonFeedback  – Janet Jackson
Hate on her as much as you’d like, but no one can deny that this song in particular is one of the modern classics that happens once every blue moon. It’s Janet’s return to form [not sound-wise, but creativity-wise], it peaked at #19 on the B. Hot 100, which in my opinion is still not enough.

aguileraFighter – Christina Aguilera
Saving the best for last.

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I really really love Breathe (2am), Everytime, Call The Shots and Can’t let go!
btw this is one of my fav. posts ;p

Comment by Abdullah.E

Fighter is a killer song!

Comment by Miznah

It’s one of my all-time favorites! It and Impossible from the same album.

Comment by Fahad

yaaa zeeen banat jackson ,, ya zeenhom zeenaah ;P

Comment by Abdullah

Nice selection of songs!

Comment by Ghalia

Glad you like them!

Comment by Fahad

love all these great songs except for call the shots

Comment by 3amoor Q

Awesome list! I like every song on the list, and adore all of them.

The two Britney songs are probably my fave ones of her, at least Everytime is. And Toy soldier was her best track since Slave 4 u. It was just spot on (and I loved how Ellen DeGeneeres danced to it)

Ace Reject is a great song, but not my favorite of them, I think they have better ones. I adore Too Lost in you (easy choice, but also easy to love) and Never Gonna Dance Again.

Can’t Let Go -> brilliance, I can listen to it over and over again. My far her best song.

Fighter -> duh! One of my alltime favorite Christina song. It’s just that GOOD!

Comment by Jenny

Feedback is one of my favorite songs, I feel it was not given enough attention.

Comment by MC

It’s all because of the stupid Super Bowl incident. But hopefully with her next release [if it’s as good as Discipline], it’ll be successful.

Comment by Fahad

aww For The Record!! It IS brilliant!! LOVE it!
and loove anythng by Leona!! ooh and Fighter 3ajeeeba!!!

Comment by Milfa3

I LOVE FIGHTER!!!

Christina’s Stripped album is the best :D

Comment by Momentum

It’s my all-time favorite album, ever!

Comment by Fahad




Leave a Reply

